Why PTSD + PCOS = A.W.A.R.D

A.W.A.R.D.

Applauding the Willing And Recognizing Determination

I have received the Blogger Recognition Award!!

Thank you so much Little Miss Mishap for giving me this award! Please check out her blog. It is full of inspiration, recipes, mental health/support, and more! I love everything she posts. It is always full of thought and sentiment. I actually look for her posts in my WordPress Reader feed everyday. Not only is her blog great, but her personality is too, and it shows in her comments and posts.

How my blog get started:

I have been writing short stories and poetry since I was in grade school, and began writing regularly in the 5th grade in a little notebook. I still have that notebook! It is all warn and tattered, but still full of life.

I had started and stopped so many blogs over the last few years, but they were never really a right fit for me. I had originally started a beauty blog, but I thought so many other people were so good at makeup reviews and tutorials, I just didn’t keep up with it. When I finally decided to narrow down my REAL interests; faith, cooking, budgeting (find my cooking and budgeting blog here) and writing, I began posting regularly and thinking of new content daily. My food blog had already been in the making since October of 2015. When I finally started PTSD + PCOS = NOT LLICKED, I was unsure about being so open and vulnerable in writing about my life and the life of my husband. I was immediately supported by other bloggers, however, with many commenting how much they could related to my posts. I had started a christian devotional blog last year, and later trashed the idea. I wanted to be more open and honest about life’s struggles, and not just paint a picture of perfection, because perfect I am not. So then, PTSD + PCOS was born, a devotional/journal/literary blog all rolled into one.

I now feel like I have found my blogging purpose. In only one short month since regularly blogging, I have  50+ followers combined between my two blogs. I am so honored and thankful to have followers I can relate to! I also have a book in the works, and have one chapter of said book on paper. After years of being withdrawn and shy, I’m ready to share my thoughts and ideas with others, and thoroughly love doing it. Mark that 2016 is the year that I became addicted to blogging!

My advice to other bloggers:

Make sure you blog about a subject you are absolutely passionate about! Then determine AND strive to be an expert about that subject. If it is not a subject you live for everyday (and I mean EVERY day), you won’t want to keep up with your blog or post regularly. When you do not post regularly, people will either stop following you or they will not follow you.

There are tons of thousands, even millions, of blogs on the internet. Take the time to post quality content, research your ideas, and make it worth the readers while to stop and read your posts. Don’t have a complete idea yet, but don’t want to forget your idea? Make a draft post, and come back to it later. When you use an idea or quote from another person or blog to support your own ideas, make sure to LINK BACK TO THEM! Your readers will be able to tell if you are honest and original, or if you are merely stealing other ideas. When you steal ideas, you will lose all credibility of being an awesome blogger. And you want to be an awesome blogger!

Finally, when you like a post or blog by someone else, make sure to interact, be friendly, and comment! Read the whole post and let them know why you enjoyed it and tell them what a great job they are doing. Not only will your blog naturally grow, but you will make friendships along the way. If you want others to support you, then you also have to step out and be supportive.

About the Blogger Recognition Award:

Please read the original post from Edge of Night , the creator of the award, to read about why this award was created, and what it means to be nominated. Also linked below are my nominations for this award. Here are the original rules below:

  • Select 10-15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! This is the whole point! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate the person who has nominated you.
  • Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post.
    • Make sure to also attach the award itself! (You can do this by right-clicking, saving, and uploading the image above, or by creating your own).
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.
  • (Optional) Provide a link to the original post on Edge of Night. A link back here will allow those who were tagged to find the original guidelines if needed. It also allows me to find the posts that linked here so I can check them out!

My Nominations:

About the post

Awards, Blogging

9 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Congratulations! And great advice, always try to write about what speaks to you and what you are passionate about 😊

    Like

  2. I absolutely loved reading this! I’m always curious to how bloggers started their blog. And you’re definitely right.. when it comes to blogging, you’ve got to blog what you’re passionate about otherwise it’ll all go down the drain.

    Thank you so much for nominating me! I’m really honoured. I’ll definitely be posting soon! 🙂

    p.s. Can’t wait to hear more about your book!

    Like

  3. I’m so glad you accepted the award! I look for your blogs as well. You are such an intriging and friendly person. I didn’t know you were writing a book, but I need to know as soon as you are done so that I can read it. Great advise by the way! I’m trying to build my blog and sometimes I just don’t know what to write about. I always look forward to your new content. Keep on keepin’ on, girl! 💁🏼

    Like

  4. You got a great blog here 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

