Why PTSD + PCOS = G.R.O.W. Part #2 of 5

Growing Room Often Works

Growing is a part of life. Often times, we grow up, but we don’t really grow as a person. I am guilty. Looking on the outside of our lives, we can see the faults in others, but it is so hard to find the faults in ourselves. It is also easy to act a certain way, an then blame it on someone or something. We all have been guilty of saying, “This is who I am.” Or is it?

In part #1, we talked about blaming the bad relationship. In part #2, I want to talk about finances.

Stop blaming your financial position.

First, let me say, money is not the root of evil. STOP, just stop. Stop misusing something that you heard someone else misuse.The actual scripture is this:

1 Timothy 6:10 (KJV)

10 For the love of money is the root of all evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.

It is the LOVE of money, not the actual money. We all need money to live. Things cost money, and we can’t get a way from that. It’s not the money’s fault. This being said, I am guilty of loving the money, and also saying “If I only had more….THEN things would be better.”

Something I have learned over the years, you can have good things that don’t cost a lot of money. I have learned to be content. Instead of focusing on what more we could want, I started to shift my focus on what we could do to make the most of what we do have. There is no magic formula I can give you, but some how, shifting your focus in this way just works.

Each pay period, I plan where every dollar has to go. I set aside a small amount to have our weekly date nights and maybe a bit to go see a movie, and we are happy. Often times, we break out a deck of cards and shut the TV off. We put away our cell phones 2-3 hours before we go to bed, and we eat dinner together when we can. Two years ago, we decided to not buy cable or renew our Netflix subscription. If I feel the urge to have more makeup or beauty items I don’t really need, I go to the bathroom and evaluate and plan how to use up what I already to have. On weekends when hubby or I feels down about not having money to blow all weekend to travel to far away places, we walk around the mall, discover small quirky shops in town, or take a walk in a park and hold hands. We remind ourselves daily, we have food, we have utilities, we have jobs, and we have a good marriage.

Be honest. If you had more money, you would still use it for things you didn’t really need.You would still be tempted to not pay your bills and say, “Just this once”. You would still want what other people have. Something I learned after I got out of my 20s and into my 30s, that new TV or cell phone actually is not going to make you happy. If you already don’t have a good relationship with your spouse, co-workers, children, friends, etc, that money isn’t going to buy you any type of happiness. Focus your love on what matters. You need money, but don’t love your money. Focus on what your money can buy, instead of what it can’t. Focus on the quality of what you are buying, instead of the quantity. If you can’t pay cash for it, 9 times outta 10, that probably means you don’t really need it. 9 times outta 10, it’s probably something you are going to get bored of in a month anyway. More money isn’t going to make you feel any better if you can’t be happy with what you already have.

Stop blaming your financial position.

Most folks are as happy as they make up their minds to be.

Abraham Lincoln

 

photo credit: Grow Bag. via photopin (license)

3 Comments

Add yours →

Leave a Reply

