Why PTSD + PCOS = N.E.W. Y.E.A.R.

Never Ending Weirdness Yet Ever Achieving Resolve

So 2016 was not a bad year for hubby and I. We had some rough times, some happy times, and some strange times, but all in all, it was a good combination of general weirdness.

I’m normally running into a new year with scissors in my hands. (Because don’t listen to anyone, it is ok to run with scissors.) I’m normally ready to start tearing apart the old and cutting out my many plans for the new. For the end of 2016, I can’t help but feel a little hesitant to let go. My 2016 can be summed up by three things that happened to me in the elevator at work.

  1. While rushing into the elevator in a hurry, I frantically pressed the button to go up to the third floor. The door closed, but the elevator stubbornly sat there, so I pressed the button again…nothing…so I pressed the button again. Finally after hitting One for the fourth time…I realize, I’M ALREADY ON THE FIRST FLOOR! Smh, what is wrong with me? THREE, HIT THREE!!!
  2. After being driven crazy by the traffic, I am ready to get my 8 hour day of work over with. I don’t know if the building managers were trying to foreshadow my day, or the rest of 2016, but when I stepped into the elevator…the walls were padded. No joke, weirdest thing I have ever seen. I can now officially say, I’ve been shut into a padded room, and no one committed me. I WALKED IN FREELY!
  3. After work, I decided I was too worn out to take the stairs, so elevator it was. I get in, press ONE, and start making my journey down. The elevator phone starts ringing. I don’t answer. There is no caller ID, and I don’t know you. I’ve seen this scary movie before. So I ignore the phone, get off on the first floor, and avoided the scary scene altogether. I dunno what that weirdo on the other line wanted, but I didn’t give in. You know what happens in movies when people answer the phone? It’s never good. You can rest assured that I survived 2016, and you will see my face another day. YOUR WELCOME!

So goodbye 2016, and hello 2017. One thing I learned, never trust an elevator, always take the stairs, and my strange but amazing life will always be a little weird.

photo credit: Tony Webster Seven via photopin (license)

About the post

Blogging

Leave a Reply

